Council Elections 2016

Newly elected Councillors 2016

Local government elections were held in Nillumbik on Saturday, 22 October 2016 and conducted by postal ballot.

The Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) officially declared the election result on Wednesday 2 November.

The successful candidates in each ward are:

  • Blue Lake Ward - Councillor Grant Brooker
  • Bunjil Ward - Deputy Mayor Councillor Karen Egan
  • Edendale Ward - Councillor John Dumaresq
  • Ellis Ward - Councillor Peter Perkins
  • Sugarloaf Ward - Councillor Jane Ashton
  • Swipers Gully Ward - Councillor Bruce Ranken
  • Wingrove Ward -  Mayor Councillor Peter Clarke

Full results are on the Victorian Electoral Commission’s website at

The new Councillors were sworn in and the Mayor and Deputy Mayor elected at a Special Council Meeting on Tuesday 8 November 2016.

Campaign Donation Return Forms Summary 

Section 62A of the Local Government Act 1989 requires that a summary of each campaign donation return form submitted to the Chief Executive Officer is made available on this website. This summary, with respect to all candidates who gave campaign donation returns, includes the name of the candidate and, if a gift is included in the return, the name of the person who made the gift and the total value of the gift received from that person.

See the Campaign Donation Returns Summary(PDF, 190KB)