Activities Program

Our Environmental Activities Program, 'Autumn Action' finishes in May but we have some great activities coming up in our 'Winter Escapes' Program which runs from June to August. Come along and get involved in the great activities we have on offer.

Fringe Focus e-newsletter

Be the first to see the upcoming activities and subscribe to receive a monthly Fringe Focus e-newsletter. Call 9433 3316 for more information.

Upcoming activities

June

Planting indigenous food, fibre and medicine - Sunday 18 June, 10am-1pm

Fruit tree pruning - Wednesday 21 June, 10am-2pm

Set up and maintain a worm farm - Saturday 24 June, 3pm-4pm

July

Fruit tree pruning - Saturday 1 July, 10am-2pm

The Rogue Ginger - Zero Waste Living - Sunday 2 July, 1pm-2pm

Backyard chooks for beginners - Thursday 6 July, 10am-12pm

Love Food, Hate Waste - cooking demonstration with lunch - Friday 14 July, 12pm-2pm

European heritage walk through the Panton Hill Bushland Reserves - Sunday 16 July, 9.30am-1.30am

Introduction to permaculture (2 day workshop) - Saturday 22 July and Saturday 29 July, 10am-4pm

More wear, less waste - recycled fashion market - Sunday 23 July, 11am-3pm

National Tree Day - Sunday 30 July, 10am-12pm

August

Organic gardening for beginners (3 day workshop) - Friday 4 August, Friday 11 August and Friday 18 August, 10am-2.30pm

Beekeeping - a taster - Sunday 13 August, 1pm-3.30pm

Set up and maintain a worm farm - Saturday 26 August, 3pm-4pm

Gardening with the plants of Nillumbik - Sunday 27 August, 10am-12.30pm

Indigenous plant propagation - Sunday 27 August, 1pm-3.30pm

Cloth nappy information

Council runs frequent sessions to discuss the pros and cons, ins and outs of cloth nappies. The new styles of cloth nappies are a fabulous way to reduce family expenses and improve the environment. And, they're cute to boot.

If you would like to attend one of these sessions, give us a call on 9433 3316 or drop us an email, Environmental.Events@nillumbik.vic.gov.au for the next available date.