The Travelling Teapot

tea 4.jpg

Join us for a unique series of creative focus groups over tea.

We are developing a new Cultural Plan for 2018 – 2022. Part of that work includes The Travelling Teapot, a unique series of roving creative focus groups, facilitated by creative consultants, Evi Van der Niet and David Adams. 

Over a cup of tea, we will invite participants to tell us what they value most in Nillumbik and how those values relate to local culture. Conversations will cover the opportunities and challenges to arts and culture now and in the future, how to build capacity in the local creative economy, personal experiences of engaged vibrant communities – and much more.

We would like to invite you to represent yourself or your group at one of these sessions. Focus groups will have 10-12 people maximum with open sessions and bookings are essential.

A online survey will available on 1 July.


Saturday 1 July, 10am–12.30pm

Edendale Ward

Edendale Farm, Mummery Room

30 Gastons Rd, Eltham


Sunday 2 July,10am–12.30pm

Ellis Ward

Cube Z, just outside Diamond Creek Community Centre

28 Main Hurstbridge Road


Wednesday 5 July (To be confirmed)

Nillumbik Youth Theatre

Hurstbridge Hall

975 Heidelberg-Kinglake Rd


Saturday 8 July, 10am–12.30pm

Wingrove Ward

Pavilion, Living & Learning Nillumbik

739 Main Rd, Eltham


Sunday 9 July, 10am–12.30pm

Sugarloaf Ward

St. Andrews Community Centre

35 Caledonia Street


Thursday 13 July, 6pm–8.30pm

Eltham Library Community Gallery foyer

801 Main Road


Saturday 15 July, 10am–12.30pm

Bunjil Ward

Allwood Neighbourhood House

901 Main Road, Hurstbridge


Sunday 16 July, 10am–12.30pm

Swipers Gully Ward

Library Room, Slovenian Club

82 Ingrams Road, Research


Saturday, 22 July, 10am–12.30pm

Blue Lake Ward

Eltham & District Woodworkers Association

448 Ironbark Rd, Yarrambat


Bookings Essential

9433 3175

Ceramic artists from Living & Learning Nillumbik made the community tea set with creative consultants Evi van der Niet and David Adams.  

Thank you to the ceramic artists: Melanie Anderson, Julie Barrington, Rae Bateman, Susan Carter-Nash, Carmel Ceglia, Dianne Collins, Ann Curry, Josephine Farrugia, Cathy Filed, Joanne Heriot, Judith Hoffmann, John Maude, Sue McCormick, Sherryl Orchard, Jodie Phelan, Anne Sfetkidis, Chantal Stewart, Lorraine Taylor, Jenny Wegner and Bee Yap.

Watch this video featuring the ceramic artists. 

Image: Teapot artists - Sue McCormick and Judith  Hoffman, Communi'Tea' 2017, stoneware clay, hand thrown with attachments.

Photo: David Adams