Home > Things to do > Arts and culture > Awards and Prizes
Awards and Prizes

To keep up to date with all of our awards and prizes subscribe to the Arts & Culture e-bulletin

Nillumbik Prize

The Nillumbik Prize celebrates artists and works from the Nillumbik region and recognises contemporary works of excellence in any medium. Entrants must demonstrate a connection with Nillumbik Shire as a local artist or through a Statement of Connection. The Prize is presented by Nillumbik Shire Council in association with Montsalvat.

Entries in the Nillumbik Prize 2015 have closed, further details are available on the Montsalvat website

2014 winner

Sanctuary  2014
photogravure on hahnemuhle paper
80cm x 115cm overall (pictured above) 

Commendations were awarded to

  • Penelope AITKIN for her painting Cotyledon Nightlife
  • Tracey LAMB for her sculpture Door Half Open


Alan Marshall Short Story Award 2015 - 30th anniversary

The Alan Marshall Short Story Award, founded in 1985, is presented by Nillumbik Shire Council in partnership with Yarra Plenty Regional Library. This annual competition will celebrate its 30th anniversary in 2015 and is a prestigious event in the literary calendar.

Entries in the 2015 AMSSA have closed

Alan Marshall AM OBE HON LLD (1902-1984) is one of Australia's most famous authors. His most well-known books are I Can Jump Puddles and This is the Grass. In 1920, Alan started his first job as a junior clerk at the Eltham Shire Offices in Kangaroo Ground. He lived in Research in the 1940s, and moved to Eltham in 1955 where he lived for almost 20 years.

2014 Winners

The 2014 Alan Marshall Short Story Award was specifically designed to provide writers with professional development in addition to cash prizes. The winners share a cash prize pool of $5,000 and attend a two-day writers’ masterclass facilitated by the award’s judge, internationally published author, Toni Jordan. Now in its 29th year, over 260 entries were received from across Australia.

Read Toni Jordan’s judge’s report (0.18MB)

Publications for Sale

Illuminations: The Alan Marshall Short Story Awards 2003-2010. Edited by Rachel Hennessy, published by Nillumbik Shire Council, 2011, and Write On: ...further winners from the Alan Marshall Short Story Award 1996-2002. Edited by Peter Dougherty, published by Nillumbik Shire Council, 2003.

These two publications contain stories from the Awards, and comments and quotes from the judges. They can be purchased from Nillumbik Shire Council for $10 for both books. For further information, contact Arts and Culture on 9433 3359 or artsinfo@nillumbik.vic.gov.au 


Nillumbik Ekphrasis Poetry Award

Ekphrasis is a genre of poetry that explores works of art and seeks to ‘get inside’ its visual subject. The Nillumbik Ekphrasis Poetry Award is a celebration of the Nillumbik Art Collection and the literary arts. Poets are invited to respond to one or more artworks from the Nillumbik Shire Art Collection with poems of any genre, up to 12 lines. Works from the collection were chosen in response to this year’s cultural arts theme Practice.

Entries in the 2015 Ekphrasis Poetry Award have now closed, winners will be announced at the award ceremony on 25 June 2015, details to be advised.

2014 Winners

Postcards featuring 2014 finalists and winners poems (0.65MB)


Poem: Lost Sea Voices by Felicity Plunkett
Artwork: Imagine Being the Sea by Chris MARKS, 2007


Poem: Softly Now by Kitty Owens
Artwork: War and Peace by Rosalie COGAN, 1987


Poem: True Love is never having to say – “Art – Politics” by Hazel Hall
Artwork: True Love is never having to say – “Art – Politics” by Tom SANDERS, 1980

Youth (12-18 years old)

Poem: when you are close, i am disappeared by Lara Robertson
Artwork: Imagine Being the Sea by Chris MARKS, 2007

This award was judged by Helen Lucas, Fee Sievers and Steve Smart. Read the Judges report (0.29MB)


Rate this page - was the information useful to you?
Bad Good
Rate this page (Was the information useful to you?)