Citizenship Ceremonies

Council hosts four citizenship ceremonies each year for Nillumbik residents on behalf of the Department of Home Affairs.

Citizenship ceremonies are special events. Not only do they fulfil requirements under Australian citizenship law they provide an important opportunity to officially welcome new citizens as full members of the Australian community. It is often an emotional experience for both new citizens as well as their hosts and guests.

Citizenship Ceremony Dates for 2020

  • Sunday 26 January
  • Thursday 16 April - Postponed until further notice

To ensure the health and wellbeing of our local community during these uncertain times, the above mentioned ceremony scheduled to take place on Thursday 16 April will be postponed to a later date. We thank you for your understanding of this situation as this decision was made upon very careful consideration. We look forward to celebrating with you and welcoming you to Nillumbik as an Australian citizen in the near future. 

 We will inform the registered conferees as information comes to hand. For more information please contact

  • Thursday 16 July
  • Thursday 17 September

NOTE: Nillumbik Council is unable to provide you with information relating to your ceremony date.

Citizenship ceremony invitations

The Department of Home Affairs will schedule you to attend one of the upcoming citizenship ceremony usually within six months from the time your citizenship application is approved, although waiting times may vary. You will be invited to attend your ceremony by the Department about four weeks before the ceremony.

Attending a citizenship ceremony

Refer to the Department of Home Affairs website for information about attending a citizenship ceremony. You will recieve further information from Council regarding the details of the ceremony and information about the registration process.

Citizenship queries

All queries relating to citizenship including applications, date of your ceremony and wait times should be directed to the Department of Home Affairs.