Special Committees

Nillumbik Shire Council conducts its business in open and advertised meetings. In addition to Ordinary and Special meetings, Nillumbik has a special committee established under Section 86 of the Local Government Act 1989 – the Future Nillumbik Committee.

All seven Councillors sit on the Committee. The committee agenda is structured on the portfolios assigned to individual Councillors. The Chair of the Committee will rotate with each Councillor to chair the section of the meeting for those items which relate to their portfolio. Want to find out more? Our Frequently Asked Questions may help.

Portfolio Councillor Chair 
 Community Services    Cr Grant Brooker 
 Economic Development and Marketing  Cr Karen Egan
 Environment and Sustainability  Cr Jane Ashton 
 Finance and Governance   Cr Peter Clarke
 Infrastructure  Cr John Dumaresq
 Social Infrastructure  Cr Bruce Ranken
 Planning  Cr Peter Perkins


 External Committees 

 External Organisation/Group  Councillor representative 
Municipal Association of Victoria 

Cr Peter Perkins
(Cr Jane Ashton alternate)

Yarra Plenty Regional Library Board Cr Karen Egan
Cr Peter Clarke 
Metropolitan Waste Management Group Cr John Dumaresq
(Cr Peter Perkins  
Interface Councils Group Cr  Karen Egan 
(Cr Peter Clarke alternate)
Northern Metro Region Councils Group Cr Karen Egan
(Cr Peter Clarke 
Metropolitan Transport Forum Cr John Dumaresq 
Nillumbik Tourism Association Cr Karen Egan
Cr Bruce Ranken

Eltham Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Cr Peter Clarke
Cr John Dumaresq
Cr Bruce Ranken

Diamond Creek Traders Association Cr Peter Perkins
Hurstbridge Traders Association Cr Karen Egan
Northern Alliance for Greenhouse Action Cr Jane Ashton

Advisory Committees 

Advisory Committee

Councillor representative 

Arts Advisory Committee

Cr Karen Egan 

 Audit Committee Cr Peter Clarke
Cr Bruce Ranken 
 CEO Employment Matters Committee All Councillors 
 Economic Development Advisory Committee Cr Karen Egan (Chair)
Cr Bruce Ranken (Deputy)
Cr John Dumaresq 
 Environment Advisory Committee Cr Jane Ashton  
Cr Grant Booker (Deputy)
 Inclusion Advisory Committee

Cr Grant Booker (Chair)
Cr Peter Perkins

 Living and Learning Advisory Committee Cr Grant Booker 

Municipal Emergency Management Planning Advisory Committee

Cr Peter Perkins (Chair)
Cr John Dumaresq (Deputy)

Panton Hill Bushland Reserves System User Group

Cr Jane Ashton

Recreation Trails Advisory Committee

Cr John Dumaresq (Chair)
Cr Jane Ashton
Cr Bruce Ranken

Positive Ageing Advisory Committee   Cr Grant Booker