Young Women Leaders Award recipients announced

Published on 10 March 2022

This is an image of the winners of the 2022 Young Women Leaders of Nillumbik Awards with the Nillumbik Shire Council Mayor and Ward Councillors.

The contributions of some of Nillumbik’s most outstanding young women have been recognised and celebrated at Nillumbik Shire Council’s Young Women Leader Awards.

The awards, which were presented at Council’s annual International Women’s Day event last night, recognise and celebrate the contribution of young women in Nillumbik to their communities.

The evening began with a Welcome to Country performance by Wurundjeri women’s dance group Djirri Djirri, followed by performances from recent contestant on TV show The Voice, Janaki Easwar and the Performing Older Women's Circus.

Nillumbik Mayor Frances Eyre said it was important to recognise the contributions of the young women in our local community.

“Each of the award recipients has played a role in shaping a stronger and more empowered Nillumbik through their significant contributions to the wider community,” she said.

“I hope that the work of these young women will help to inspire other young people in our community to make a difference. I would like to congratulate not only the winners of these awards, but all those who were nominated.”

2022 Young Women Leaders

Young Woman of the Year

Fieke van Der Kamp has been a passionate member of the inaugural Nillumbik Shire Youth Council and was elected as the first Youth Council Mayor in 2021. She has dedicated her time to empowering and inspiring other young people in the community.

Fieke was selected to attend a meeting with the Parliamentary Secretary for Mental Health, where she provided feedback on mental health challenges face by young people and workshopped solutions and programs to improve the mental health and wellbeing of young Australians.

Young Creative Leader

Abigail Wilson has made an incredible impact in the creative arts space, using her skills as a film maker to shine a spotlight on community groups in Nillumbik. Abigail’s award-winning short films demonstrate her commitment to storytelling, showcasing lesser-known tales of Nillumbik’s people and community.

Selecting video subjects that are often overlooked, Abigail demonstrates advocacy for community groups and organisations, highlighting her value of community spirit, identity and team work.

Young Sport Leader

Jessica Alpen has been a volunteer assistant coach for the All Abilities cricket team at Research Eltham Collegians Cricket Club since its inception. She consistently demonstrates leadership in all areas of the club’s All Abilities program and has proven to be an exceptional role model for all players on the team, developing strong connections with the playing group, their families/carers and the wider club community.

Young Business Leader

Orianna Edmonds is the proud owner of Naturally Goat Skincare, manufacturing high-quality organic goat’s milk skincare and body products, produced from the milk collected from her own goat herd.

Through her proactive approach to developing her business, Orianna has had a significant impact on the Nillumbik community, supporting other local farms, producers, retailers and consumers.

Young Gender Equity Leader

Brianne Keogh is a dedicated member of the Nillumbik Youth Council, where she acts as a voice for young women in the community. Brianne’s continuous advocacy for the young women of Nillumbik has been pivotal in ensuring gender equity is represented in the new Nillumbik Youth Strategy throughout all priority areas.

Brianne was also integral to the development of the Nillumbik Youth Council’s recent 16 Days of Activism Against Gender-Based Violence youth-led video.