Nillumbik Prize for Contemporary Art

21105 NSC NPCA 2023 Collateral - Web Tile DD1.jpg

The Nillumbik Prize for Contemporary Art (NPCA) is awarded every two years and is open to emerging and established artists working in any medium across Australia.

The competition includes four monetary prizes, three of which were announced at the opening night on Thursday 20 April 2023.

  • Open Prize: $20,000, winner Laresa Kosloff, New Futures 2021, HD video, sound.
  • Local Prize: $10,000, winner Tina Stefanou, Hym(e)nals 2022, video installation, sound.
  • Mayor's Award: $500, winner Jarrad Martyn, Refuge 2022, oil on canvas.
  • People’s Choice Award: $500 cash prize sponsored by Montsalvat, to be announced 20 June 2023.

The Open and Local Prize are acquisitive. This means that the winning artworks become part of the Nillumbik Shire Art Collection.

View the catalogue

The catalogue is designed to be viewed in 'fullscreen' mode by clicking the square icon.


The Open and Local Prize winners were selected by an independent judging panel including:

  • Hannah Presley – Senior Curator, Museums and Collections, University of Melbourne
  • Melissa Keys – Senior Curator, Heide Museum of Modern Art
  • Jason Smith – Director and CEO, Geelong Gallery

The Mayor's Award was selected by Cr Ben Ramcharan.

More than 300 applications were received for the 2023 Prize and judged by the shortlisting panel:

  • Jane Trengove - Artist and Disability Advocate
  • Steph Noah – Curator, Banyule City Council
  • Spiros Panigirakis – Head of Fine Art Department, Monash University


The finalists selected for the 2023 Nillumbik Prize Contemporary Art exhibition:

Ingmar Apinis | Wona Bae and Charlie Lawler | Zanny Begg | Alyson Bell | Debra Billson | Fleur Brett | Johnathon World Peace Bush | Anna Carey | Tristan Chant | Jess Coldrey | Belinda Fox and Neville French | Felicity Gordon | Timothy Gregory | Amala Groom | Anton Hasell | Franky Howell | Ayman Kaake | Laresa Kosloff | Tracey Lamb | Richard Langley | Owen Leong | Alanna Lorenzon | Arrayah Loynd | Paula Mahoney | Jarrad Martyn | Harry McAlpine | Kate Mitchell | Sally M Nangala Mulda | Rohin Kickett and Mark Parfitt | John Prince Siddon | Victoria Reichelt | Kerrin Samuel | Nina Sanadze | Tina Stefanou | Emma Varker | Augusta Vinall Richardson | Darren Wardle | Lilli Waters | Simon Welsh | Deborah White | Christine Willcocks | Susan Wirth