Environment and Sustainability Advisory Commitee

Council’s Environment and Sustainability Advisory Committee provides a formal mechanism for Council to consult with key stakeholders, seek specialist advice and enable community participation in initiatives, policies and strategies concerning:

  • Climate resilience
  • Renewable energy
  • Water
  • Biodiversity and the natural environment
  • Sustainable land management
  • Recycling and waste management
  • Environmental education and engagement

The Committee comprises the Environment and Sustainability portfolio Councillor Jane Ashton as Chairperson and fourteen representatives from across the community appointed by Council following a public call for nominations in 2019. This committee has been appointed for a three year term.