2021 Nillumbik Australia Day Virtual Awards and Citizenship Ceremony

Over 80 people attended the COVID-safe in-person event on Tuesday 26 January 2021 held at Eltham Community Reception Centre to celebrate the announcement of the 2021 Nillumbik Australia Day Award recipients and to welcome our newest Citizens. As well as 700 people tuning in to watch our live stream event.  

More than ever community spirit is paramount and Reflect. Respect. Celebrate. We’re all part of the story was the message of the day. Award recipients announced on the day as pictured (L-R) with Mayor, Cr Peter Perkins, were:

2021 Australia Day Award Recipients.jpg


Citizen of the Year - Josh Allen

Senior Citizen of the Year - Jan Aitken

 Community Group of the Year - Rotary Club of Diamond Creek (Accepted by President Stephany Hutt)

 Young Citizen of the Year - Finn Deacey

 Volunteer of the Year - Peter Talbot

 You can read all about their achievements and the full media release here.



Watch a recording of the awards below

Our newest citizens were also welcomed at the event and our Citizenship Reflection video was played telling the story of recent citizens to Nillumbik, why they chose the area and what it means to be an Australian. Watch the Citizenship Reflection video, produced by Momentum Studios Australia, below.