Nillumbik Prize for Contemporary Writing

2024 Nillumbik Prize Contemporary Writing web graphic

Nillumbik has a strong history in literary arts that is supported today through the Nillumbik Prize for Contemporary Writing. The Prize offers contemporary writers an opportunity to win cash prizes and to profile their work.

The 2024 Nillumbik Prize for Contemporary Writing is presented in partnership with Writers Victoria.

2024 shortlist

Congratulations to the 65 writers who have been shortlisted for the Nillumbik Prize for Contemporary Writing 2024. The winners will be announced at a public award event and anthology launch on 4 May 2024.

Alan Marshall Short Story Award - Open

A E Macleod - Brilliant

Aaron Becknel - Reconstructed

Bronwyn Blake - The Apple Tree

Delila Bevan Zavadsky - Metallic

Elsie Mellor - The Dinner

Fiona Murphy - Income Test

Jacqui Hodder - The Gentle Fall of Purple Rain

Jo Langdon - Open

K A Rees - Clepsydra

Kathryn Goldie - Neither High Tide Nor Low

Lauren Sanders - Minefield

Mat Oldaker - The Most Important Meal of Her Life

Penny Flanagan - The Fruits of His Labour

Alan Marshall Short Story Award - Local

Briony Kane - The Von Meck Mystery

Cara Spina - Our Body

June Rushton - Under the Crying Tree

Karen Andrews - A Tuned Piano

Kate Thompson - Suede

Lisa Kate Moule - Lessons in Rebellion

Mary Howley - The Legacy of the Roses

Peta Keown - Game Fundamentals

Peta Keown - Domestication

Memoir - Open

A.M. Jude - The Apple Falls Far From The Tree

Anne-Marie Turner - Love is the Lighthouse - Navigating Family Estrangement

Dani Netherclift - Our Unmoored selves

Deborah Van Heekeren - Knitting Like a Girl

Kylie Eklund-Denman - Despair

Lily Chan - Third Culture Kids

Lucinda Bain - The Butterfly Reserve

Maddy Jolly Fuentes - Coloured Lights

Michelina Sirianni - Calendar Days

Ouyang Yu - Memories of a Metaphysically Displaced Person

Polly Watkins - Eulogy for a Chicken

Rashida Murphy - Singing In Hindi

Tricia Bowen - Years of Small Things

Viv Cutbush - To Say The Least Is To Say Nothing At All

Memoir - Local

Ainsley Grace - Becoming Jezebel

Ale Prunotto - The Spaces Between

John Stuyfbergen - The Yellow Chair

Kirsten Moore - Girl Where Do You Think You're Goin

Kurt Shean - Five Children, Four Weddings, Just the Two of Us

Kurt Shean - Church of the Divine Marriage

Lucinda Bain - The Butterfly Reserve

Pam Kemeys - Dad's Tricky Christmas

Ruby Grace McDowell - I am a little "stitious"

Ruby Grace McDowell - We Put Them In Homes

Short Story - Youth

Beth Fitzroy-Mendis - Red Paint

Georgia Groza - I Want to Believe in Goodness

Isaac Vincent - The Boys in the Lake

Isla Constantine - CTF-4207

Jade Iddon - Re Stands for Resistance

Jayan Atukorala - An Unlikely Story

Lara Swenson - The Titanium Court

Marissa Wilkinson - Slow and Sweet and Sticky

Michael Dent - Utter Perfectopm

Munira Tabassum Ahmed - Water Resistance

S D Munawara - Cars Only

Sharon Zhang - Scene from Eroding River

Terry Yang - We The People

Memoir - Youth

Jamie Hayes - transprefixacrossthrough

Marshall Juno - Resting the Soul

Nadine Chantelle Salita - Triple-Zero Saved Me

Nadine Chantelle Salita - The Chimes

Siya Gauri Singh - Threads of a Tapestry

Willem van Hasselt - Transported


Short Stories category

Dan Hogan

Dan Hogan promo imagesq.jpg

Dan Hogan (they/them) is a writer from San Remo, NSW (Awabakal and Worimi Country). They currently live and work on Dharug and Gadigal Country (Sydney).

Dan's debut book of poetry, Secret Third Thing, was released by Cordite in 2023. Dan’s work has been recognised by the Judith Wright Poetry Prize, Val Vallis Award, XYZ Prize, Harri Jones Prize, Woollahra Digital Literary Award and a Next Chapter fellowship. 

Dan’s fiction, nonfiction, and poetry have appeared in Meanjin, Overland, Going Down Swinging and The Guardian, among others. In their spare time, Dan runs small DIY publisher Subbed In. More of their work can be found at their website.

Rijn Collins

Rijn Collins_photographer Shannon Sexton SQ.jpg

Rijn Collins is an award-winning Melbourne writer with more than 100 short stories published in anthologies and journals, performed at literary festivals, and broadcast on Australian and American radio.

In 2016 she won the inaugural Sarah Lawrence Award for International Audio Fiction in New York. In 2021 she won the Strange Days Writing Award judged by Helen Garner.

Her collection of memoir, ‘Voice’, was published in 2021 by Somekind Press. Her debut novel, ‘Fed to Red Birds’, was published in 2023 by Simon and Schuster, and was inspired by her writing residency in Iceland.

Her current work is a novel set in Melbourne’s western suburbs, drawing on Gothic themes in an exploration of identity and intimacy. She lives in Melbourne with her husband, step-daughter, and three-legged cat.

Memoir category

Eloise Grills

Eloise Grills promo imagesq.JPG

Eloise Grills is a writer and artist living on Dja Dja Wurrung country.

Her work has been published by journals both here and overseas, including The New Yorker, The Guardian, The Rumpus and Meanjin.

Her illustrated memoir, big beautiful female theory, was shortlisted for the 2023 Stella Prize, the Indie Book Award for Illustrated Nonfiction and highly commended for the Victorian Premier's Literary Award.

Eda Gunaydin

Eda_Gunaydin promo imagesq.jpg

Eda Gunaydin is a Turkish-Australian essayist and researcher whose writing explores class, capital, intergenerational trauma and diaspora.

You can find her work in the Sydney Review of Books, HEAT Magazine, Meanjin and elsewhere. She has been a finalist for a Queensland Literary Award and the Scribe Nonfiction Prize.

Her debut essay collection Root & Branch: Essays on Inheritance (NewSouth Publishing) won the 2022 Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for Non-Fiction, and was shortlisted for the Matt Richell Prize for New Writer of the Year at the 2023 ABIAs.



Entry fee $25

Prize $5,000

Short Story (The Alan Marshall Short Story Award)

Up to 2,500 words

Theme: Resistance


Up to 2,500 words


Entry fee $10

Prize $2,500

All entries in the Local category are automatically entered into the Open category.

Short Story (The Alan Marshall Short Story Award)

Up to 2,500 words

Theme: Resistance

A $500 prize is also awarded from the shortlisted entries in the local section of the Short Story award.


Up to 2,500 words


Open to writers aged 11 to 21.

Free entry

Prize $1,000

Short Story (The Alan Marshall Short Story Award)

Up to 2,500 words

Theme: Resistance


Up to 2,500 words

Conditions of entry

  • The Prize is open to all Australian residents who work, live or study in Nillumbik. 
  • All entries are online.
  • All local entries are automatically entered into the Open section.
  • The prizes are cash plus inclusion in an anthology.
  • Entry is free for Concession Card holders and for Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander people.

Conditions of Entry(PDF, 273KB) 

We strongly encourage entries from Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander people, people living with a disability, culturally or linguistically diverse people, and LGBTIQA+ people.  

History of the Prize

The Nillumbik Prize for Contemporary Writing (NPCW) was introduced in 2020, evolving from the annual Alan Marshall Short Story Award (AMSSA), established in 1985 and the annual Nillumbik Ekphrasis Poetry Award (2012–2019). The Prize is awarded every two years.

The Alan Marshall Short Story Award (AMSSA) is awarded to the best short story in the Open Short Story category to preserve the legacy of the AMSSA.

The winning entries are published in an anthology and presented at a major public event.

2022 Anthology Nillumbik Prize Contemporary Writing(PDF, 616KB)

Nillumbik Prize Contemporary Writing Anthology 2020(PDF, 1MB)

Literary Nillumbik Anthology of Writing 2018(PDF, 1MB)

Literary Nillumbik Anthology of Writing 2017(PDF, 12MB)

Literary Nillumbik Anthology of Writing 2016(PDF, 2MB)