Council elections

Nillumbik Shire Council is divided into seven wards with a Councillor elected to represent each ward. Councillors serve a four year term, and a Mayor and Deputy Mayor are elected by their peers each year for a one year term. To find out which ward you live in and who your Councillor is, visit My Neighbourhood.

The current Councillors were sworn in on Tuesday 17 November 2020. The next Council election is in October 2024.

2024 Council election

The Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) runs local council elections across the state. It’s your opportunity to help shape Nillumbik – by voting for your Council representative or becoming a Councillor yourself.


Voting is compulsory.

Registered voters will receive a ballot pack in the mail, which must be mailed or delivered by 6pm on 26 October 2024.

In a council election there are two types of voters:

  • State-enrolled
  • Council-enrolled

State-enrolled voters

You must enrol and vote if you:

  • are 18 years or older
  • are an Australian citizen
  • have lived at your address for longer than one month.

If your address on the state electoral roll is in Nillumbik Shire, you must vote in the Nillumbik council election. If you don’t vote, the VEC may issue you a fine. Check your enrolment on the VEC website.

Council-enrolled voters

If your address on the state electoral roll isn’t in Nillumbik, you may still be able to vote as a council-enrolled voter.

Council-enrolled voters include ratepayers who own or occupy a property (for example if you have an investment property or operate a business in Nillumbik) or represent a corporation within the Shire.

You can apply to become a council-enrolled voter if you are:

  • 18 years or older
  • a property owner, occupier or represent a corporation
  • not a State-enrolled voter within Nillumbik.

To find out whether this applies to you, visit the VEC website.  

Applications open soon.

You have one vote per council. If you are a state-enrolled voter, that is the enrolment you use to vote. You don’t need to apply to enrol.

Nominating as a candidate

Becoming a Councillor is a great opportunity to represent your community and take an active role in shaping the health, wellbeing, culture, environment, biodiversity and economic success of Nillumbik.


You can nominate for any ward. All candidates must be qualified to nominate.

To qualify, you must be:

  • 18 years or older
  • an Australian citizen
  • eligible to vote in Nillumbik as a state-enrolled or council-enrolled voter.

There is a list of circumstances that disqualify a candidate from nominating. For more information, visit the VEC website.

You have until 24 September to submit your nomination.

Information and support

Information sessions will be held over the coming months to help you prepare. You can attend a session anywhere in the state – you don’t have to attend a local session. Information about session times will be published on this site when it’s available.

Enter your email address so we can send updates on information sessions and relevant information about nominations. Privacy statement.

The VEC will also nominate an election manager who can help you submit your nomination and provide advice.

2020 Council election

Under the laws for council elections, candidates must provide a list of campaign donations (called an ‘election campaign donation return’) to the CEO, and a summary must be published on Council’s website until the roll closes for the next election (30 August 2024).

2020 campaign donation register(DOCX, 42KB)