Audit and Risk Committee

Purpose and objectives

The Audit and Risk Committee is an advisory committee formally appointed by Council pursuant to section 53 of the Local Government Act 2020 and is responsible to the Council. The Committee does not have executive powers or authority to implement actions in areas over which management of Nillumbik Shire Council (management) has responsibility, and does not have any delegated financial responsibility. The Committee does not have any management functions and is therefore independent of management.

The Committee’s role is to report to the Council and provide appropriate advice and recommendations on matters relevant to its charter in order to facilitate decision making by the organisation comprising Council and management in relation to the discharge of its responsibilities.

The objectives of the Committee in relation to Council are to oversee:

  • The integrity of external financial reporting, including accounting policies
  • The scope of work, objectivity, performance and independence of the external and internal auditors
  • The establishment, effectiveness and maintenance of controls and systems to safeguard financial and physical resources
  • The systems or procedures that are designed to ensure compliance with relevant statutory and regulatory requirements
  • The process for recognising risks arising from operations and strategies, and to consider the adequacy of measures taken to manage those risks
  • The process and systems which protect against fraud and improper activities including the Protected Disclosures Act procedures.

The Committee seeks also to add to the credibility of Council by promoting ethical standards through its work.

Meeting frequency

Committee meetings are held quarterly - on the second Monday of every third month - from 4pm to 6pm at the Civic Drive Council meeting rooms or via Zoom if required.   

Committee period

The current Committee was appointed for a three-year term which commenced on 1 September 2020.


This Committee is chaired by an independent member who is appointed by the Committee for a three year term.

The Committee comprises the following representatives endorsed by Council:

  • John Watson (Chair)
  • Cr Frances Eyre
  • Cr Ben Ramcharan
  • Gregory Rimmer-Hollyman 
  • Chris Eddy


The Agenda for the next Committee meeting is circulated to those attending one week prior to the meeting date. 


Minutes from each Committee meeting are confirmed at the next meeting of the Committee.