Environment and Sustainability Advisory Committee

Environment and Sustainability Advisory Committee

The Environment and Sustainability Advisory Committee (ESAC) provides a formal mechanism for Council to consult with key stakeholders and to seek specialist advice on environmental and sustainability issues, initiatives, policies and strategies.

The objectives of the ESAC are to:

  • Raise issues of interest and concern for Nillumbik for information to, and consideration by, Council on all aspects concerning environment and sustainability.
  • Assist in the preparation or review of key environmental, land management and sustainability strategies and policies.
  • Provide input and advice to Council on issues of environment, land management and sustainability.
  • Check the progress of actions in the Green Wedge Management Plan with regard to environment and sustainability outcomes.
  • Provide coordination, liaison and communication with other Council advisory groups and key external stakeholders.

The Committee comprises the Environment and Sustainability portfolio Councillor as Chairperson and fourteen representatives from across the community appointed by Council following a public call for nominations in 2019.

Committee members:

  • Sali Bache
  • John Brenan
  • Narelle Campbell
  • Areej Hashmi-Weyman
  •  John Huf
  •  Carol Jadraque
  •  Zachary Lombardo
  •  Elizabeth Parsons 
  •  Lauren Poulton
  •  Andrew Robinson
  • Aidan Somers
  • Alan Thatcher
  • Elley Thomas
  • David Turner