Council elections

Voting in the Nillumbik Shire Council general election has now closed.

Results will be available after Friday 30 October following the close of the postal vote receipt period. The final result will be declared by Friday 13 November. Stay up to date here 

Nillumbik’s new Council is scheduled to be sworn in on Tuesday 17 November.

 Didn’t vote? Find out more at the Victorian Electoral Commission here

Nillumbik Shire is divided into seven wards, each represented by one democratically elected Councillor. All Councillors serve a four-year term.

The conduct of Council elections is regulated by The Local Government Act 2020, and the Local Government (Electoral) Regulations 2020.

Election Manager

Previously known as the “Returns Officer”, the Election Manager is responsible for managing all aspects of the election for which they are appointed, including the establishment of the election office and recruitment and training of office staff.

The Election Manager will publicly declare a candidate to be elected by 13 November 2020. 

Nillumbik's Election Manager in the 2020 elections will be Doug Hocking.

Election Office

The election office will open to the public on 16 September 2020.

7/256 Bolton Street, Eltham

03 8619 1457

Who are the candidates?

Candidates will be listed on the Victorian Electoral Commission website progressively from Thursday 17 September 2020.