Nillumbik Prize for Contemporary Art

21105 NSC NPCA 2023 Collateral - Web Tile DD1.jpg

The 2023 Nillumbik Prize for Contemporary Art finalist exhibition is now open at the Barn Gallery, Montsalvat, until Sunday 11 June.

A public program accompanies the Prize - see below for details.

This free exhibition features a captivating array of diverse works from artists both local and from right across Australia responding to the theme ‘Future’.

For opening hours visit

Proudly presented by Nillumbik Shire Council in association with Montsalvat.

The catalogue is designed to be viewed in 'fullscreen' mode by clicking the square icon.

The Nillumbik Prize for Contemporary Art (NPCA) is awarded every two years and is open to emerging and established artists working in any medium across Australia.

The competition includes four monetary prizes, three of which were announced at the opening night on Thursday 20 April:

  • Open Prize: $20,000, winner Laresa Kosloff, New Futures 2021, HD video, sound.
  • Local Prize: $10,000, winner Tina Stefanou, Hym(e)nals 2022, video installation, sound.
  • Mayor's Award: $500, winner Jarrad Martyn, Refuge 2022, oil on canvas.
  • People’s Choice Award: $500 cash prize sponsored by Montsalvat, to be announced 20 June 2023.

The Open Prize and the Local Prize are acquisitive. This means that the winning artworks become part of the Nillumbik Shire Art Collection.

The Open and Local Prize winners were selected by an independent judging panel including:

  • Hannah Presley – Senior Curator, Museums and Collections, University of Melbourne
  • Melissa Keys – Senior Curator, Heide Museum of Modern Art
  • Jason Smith – Director and CEO, Geelong Gallery

The Mayor's Award was selected by Cr Ben Ramcharan.

More than 300 applications were received for the 2023 Prize and judged by the shortlisting panel:

  • Jane Trengove - Artist and Disability Advocate
  • Steph Noah – Curator, Banyule City Council
  • Spiros Panigirakis – Head of Fine Art Department, Monash University


The finalists selected for the 2023 Nillumbik Prize Contemporary Art exhibition are:

Ingmar Apinis | Wona Bae and Charlie Lawler | Zanny Begg | Alyson Bell | Debra Billson | Fleur Brett | Johnathon World Peace Bush | Anna Carey | Tristan Chant | Jess Coldrey | Belinda Fox and Neville French | Felicity Gordon | Timothy Gregory | Amala Groom | Anton Hasell | Franky Howell | Ayman Kaake | Laresa Kosloff | Tracey Lamb | Richard Langley | Owen Leong | Alanna Lorenzon | Arrayah Loynd | Paula Mahoney | Jarrad Martyn | Harry McAlpine | Kate Mitchell | Sally M Nangala Mulda | Rohin Kickett and Mark Parfitt | John Prince Siddon | Victoria Reichelt | Kerrin Samuel | Nina Sanadze | Tina Stefanou | Emma Varker | Augusta Vinall Richardson | Darren Wardle | Lilli Waters | Simon Welsh | Deborah White | Christine Willcocks | Susan Wirth

Public Programs

Children’s sculpture workshops with artist Tracey Lamb

A fun and engaging artist-led workshop where children can use their imagination to create their own cardboard sculptures. Suitable for children aged up to 12 years. Tracey Lamb is a local sculptor who works with steel to create forms inspired by fragments and geometries found in mid-century modern design and architecture. Tracey has taken part in solo and group exhibitions throughout Australia and internationally and has an MFA from Monash University and a BFA (Visual Art) Hons from the Victorian College of the Arts. Tracey is a Nillumbik Prize for Contemporary Art 2023 finalist.

Date: Saturday 6 May 2023
Times: 12 noon – 1pm or 1pm – 2pm
Location: Skipper Studio, Montsalvat, 7 Hillcrest Ave, Eltham
Cost: $5
Bookings: Workshop 1 (noon) or Workshop 2 (1pm)  

Exhibition tour with the curators and winning artists

A group tour. Wine and cheese included. Limited numbers. One tour only.

Date: Thursday 11 May 2023
Time: 6.30pm – 8pm
Location: Barn Gallery, Montsalvat
Book online

Artists in conversation: Arrayah Loynd and Ayman Kaake

Explore the exhibition and join Nillumbik Prize for Contemporary Art 2023 finalists Arrayah Loynd and Ayman Kaake in conversation. Wine and cheese included.

Date: Saturday 27 May 2023
Time: 3pm – 4.30pm
Location: Barn Gallery, Montsalvat
Bookings: Bookings essential

More information

To find out more about the NPCA, contact:

Curator and Collections Management Officer
Phone: 9433 3111