Nillumbik Prize for Contemporary Art

21105 NSC NPCA 2023 Collateral - Web Tile DD1.jpg

The Nillumbik Prize for Contemporary Art (NPCA) is awarded every two years and is open to emerging and established artists working in any medium across Australia.

The competition includes four monetary prizes:

  • Open Prize: $20,000 
  • Local Prize: $10,000 
  • Mayor's Award: $500
  • People’s Choice Award: $500 cash prize sponsored by Montsalvat

The Open Prize and the Local Prize are acquisitive. This means that the winning artworks become part of the Nillumbik Shire Art Collection.

Over 300 applications were received for the 2023 Prize and judged by the shortlisting panel:

  • Jane Trengove - Artist and Disability Advocate
  • Steph Noah – Curator, Banyule City Council
  • Spiros Panigirakis – Head of Fine Art Department, Monash University

Finalists announced

The finalists selected for the 2023 Nillumbik Prize Contemporary Art exhibition are:

Ingmar Apinis | Wona Bae and Charlie Lawler | Zanny Begg | Alyson Bell | Debra Billson | Fleur Brett | Johnathon World Peace Bush | Anna Carey | Tristan Chant | Jess Coldrey | Belinda Fox and Neville French | Felicity Gordon | Timothy Gregory | Amala Groom | Anton Hasell | Franky Howell | Ayman Kaake | Laresa Kosloff | Tracey Lamb | Richard Langley | Owen Leong | Alanna Lorenzon | Arrayah Loynd | Paula Mahoney | Jarrad Martyn | Harry McAlpine | Kate Mitchell | Sally M Nangala Mulda | Rohin Kickett and Mark Parfitt | John Prince Siddon | Victoria Reichelt | Kerrin Samuel | Nina Sanadze | Tina Stefanou | Emma Varker | Augusta Vinall Richardson | Darren Wardle | Lilli Waters | Simon Welsh | Deborah White | Christine Willcocks | Susan Wirth

The Open and Local Prize winners will be announced on the opening night of the exhibition and selected by an independent judging panel including:

  • Hannah Presley – Senior Curator, Museums and Collections, University of Melbourne
  • Melissa Keys – Senior Curator, Heide Museum of Modern Art
  • Jason Smith – Director and CEO, Geelong Gallery

The Mayors Award will be selected by Cr Ben Ramcharan and announced on the opening night of the exhibition.

The People's Choice Award will be announced on Tuesday 20 June 2023.

Finalists exhibition

The 2023 NPCA exhibition will feature artworks from all the finalists and will be held at the Barn Gallery, Montsalvat from Friday 21 April to Sunday 11 June 2023. Entry to the exhibition is free.

More information

To find out more about the NPCA, contact:

Curator and Collections Management Officer
Phone: 9433 3111